Hi – I’m pretty new to sewing, and have been racking my brains about this pattern and am completely stuck. I made it out of a bed sheet but it’s absolutely enormous so I am obviously doing something very wrong.

It’s mainly the pattern cutting that I’m not sure about. The pattern is 2 pieces, 6 and 7. You cut piece 7 out twice (skirt back), then piece 6 out twice (skirt side front), but then you need to cut out one more piece of 6 on the fabric fold. But which is this piece? There’s a seam drawn on the pattern so I assumed this was where you cut, with the centre piece on the fold. But the skirt turns out HUGE! It’s really hard to tell how much fabric is needed because it’s gathered, but adding up the lengths of the gathered pieces plus this mysterious front piece, it doesn’t match up to size.

Also there are some pleated sections and I’ve got no idea how to do these. Big pleats, small pleats, several or one big one, and which way do you fold the fabric when the arrow points in a certain direction?

I really hope someone can help me because I love the pattern and the fabric and really want to get started!

Thanks very much, Julie

Jules_r_large

4 Posts Sign in to add a post

• Self_portrait_large

Jul 6, 2014, 04.39 PMby Sabrina Wharton-Brown

I don’t have the pattern, but I’ve been sewing since I was 17 and this is probably how I would sew this skirt. I think this would be the easiest way to make it.

1. HEM With this skirt, it’s probably best to hem it first because of the flaps on the front. There is a tutorial for hemming curved edges here

2. FRONT There are three front skirt pieces: two half fronts and one cut on the fold. This is because the two half pieces are to be gathered up at the top to go on front of the the big piece, like curtains on top of a sheet if you will.