So, I’m somewhere between a novice and intermediate seamstress. I’ve worked with several sewing patterns before, and have never had any trouble piecing together the pieces. This is my first time using a Burda pattern (#7388), and I cannot for the life of me figure out how this sweetheart neckline bodice pieces together. The edges for the bodice center front and the center sides that are supposed to be seamed together aren’t even kind of the same shape.

I was able to get a somewhat working version of the bodice, but I was only able to do that by flipping the center side pieces upside down from how they were meant to be attached to the center front. But still, because of the differently shaped edges, there is a lot of fabric left over at the seam edge, so I know this can’t be right.

Here’s a link to an album showing the pattern, the pieces, and my makeshift version.

Can someone please help me figure out what I’m doing wrong or what I’m missing here? Thank you all so much in advance!!

Profile90x90_large

5 Posts Sign in to add a post

• Profile90x90_large

Mar 30, 2012, 05.43 PMby Rachel Neely

Thanks to some wonderful ladies on Reddit, I think I understand now where I was going wrong. First, I was expecting there to be notches to guide the seam line, but for this pattern, there just aren’t. But mostly, I was looking at these pattern pieces on a flat table, two dimensionally, when obviously, the bust area is going to be a three dimensional area. When I actually match the edges up the way they described, I can see how they fit together even though they appear to be different shapes. I need to get out of my two dimensional headspace, and really think about the human body.

• Bored_polar_bear_large

Mar 30, 2012, 10.41 PMby 20beverly08