Hello – I’m going to make this garment but using a quite heavy knit fabric which looks as though it will unravel easily. I’m thinking of finishing all the seams (as well as neck and arm openings) with bias tape – not sure what sort yet – do you think this approach is right?
Second question: I am not sure what to do with the hem. The pattern instructions say to leave the recommended mohair fabric unfinished with a zigzag just in from the edge but I don’t think that will work for my heavier fabric – it will simply look unfinished. Should I hem it, or use more bias tape?
Final question! I’ve never used a knit fabric before – any helpful hints before I start?

Edited: I don’t think after all it will unravel any more problematically than any average material but I still think I’ll bind all seams and maybe do a rolled hem (never done before…) for the hem. Advice still welcome if anyone has any.

Many thanks, and Happy New Year!

Missing

2 Posts Sign in to add a post

• Iphone_pictures_037_large

Jan 11, 2014, 03.34 PMby Deanna31

Hi,

I think you’ll have trouble with the bias binding. It may stretch the seam out of shape. Overlocking is best or zig zag second.

A rolled hem for the bottom is ok but it may stretch the fabric out of shape too. Sometimes the stretching can look really effective, and people pull the fabric on purpose as it goes through the machine to make the fabric wave (Try it on a test fabric before starting to see how much to stretch the fabric or how NOT to stretch the fabric). However I always use a double stitch machine. You can create a similar effect by zigzagging the hem, folding it over 2.5cm, then doing 2 rows of stitching.

Make sure you stretch the fabric as you sew the straight seam, otherwise when you stretch the fabric the thread will snap.

A new ball point needle will also stop holes in the garment. If you can’t get a ball point needle, use a fine (size 10) new needle.

Good luck ;)

• Missing

Feb 7, 2014, 01.09 PMby Caromary58