Unfortuntately, I don’t know where this post should go (Website Etiquette or Website Feedback)…. but that is part of the old Discussions-organization-needs-vast-improvement conversation.
I am now being SPAMMED through the messaging feature on Burda style.
Today I got this (2nd) email in my personal email:
quote:
Sent: Wed, November 25, 2009 10:39:41 AM
Subject: [ kind reminder ] Academic Study of Online Communities
Dear Wzrdreams,
Rita.mauricio sent you the following message from the BurdaStyle website:
Hi, This is a kind reminder about the invitation we sent you earlier to participate in our study of BurdaStyle ( see survey link in the original message below ).
Because your contribution would really make a difference in our study, we are making a second attempt to reach out to you.
Thank you in advance for considering helping us. We are grateful to you for that.
Rita Maurício, on behalf of the research team at UCP.
We, at Catholic University of Portugal Business School, are conducting an academic research project comparing different online communities.
Please help us learn about your participation in the BurdaStyle online community by taking 15 minutes to fill out this survey:
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=4G5_2bwlELhpqBD_2bapLhRMKg_3d_3d&C=bs9472
At the end of the survey, we share the resulting community statistics for you to see.
Thank you for your valuable help. We really appreciate it.
You may contact us at: dis.ucp@gmail.com
Note: If you do not wish to receive further emails from us, please click the link below. You will be removed from our study.
http://www.surveymonkey.com/optout.aspx
—
BurdaStyle
end quote—-
I consider this spam because I do not know this person and I am receiving messages in my email (via Burdastyle) and I have no way of blocking this individual from messaging me. Repeat requests for survey participation is not the proper use for this site and it is NOT appreciated. In my opinion, this is an extremely sketchy and unethical way to get research participation. I would have more respect if this person posted a message in the Discussions explaining the request…. Not to mention the email provided is a gmail address…. Doesn’t the Catholic University of Business Portugal have affiliated email addresses? Or at the very least a linkable website? Contacting strangers (more than once) is just plain creepy.
You must be registered to add a new post!
Removed.
Thank you!
Thank you! I have removed them.
Gone!
Editor's Pick
A pattern from 1961 brought back to life!
Guest Columns
Marina Von Koenig finishes another couture garment
Editor's Picks
Alberta Ferretti Dress
Member Project of the Week
I wear it a lot these days…it is one of my favorite dresses.
Editor's Pick
Check out these great new patterns
Click here to go to blog post...
Nov 27, 2009, 07.51 AMby sew4my3
This has been reported and should be taken care of soon. Happy sewing!