Featured Member: frkbustad

Helene_aka_frkbustad_medium

Where are you from and/or where do you live?
I’m originally from Stavanger, Norway, but I have lived in Bergen for the past 7 years and consider myself as a local. I finished my master’s degree in medical cell biology one and a half year ago, and I’m currently working on a project that hopefully will turn in to my PhD.

How did you start sewing?
My mum used to sew a lot of clothes for me and my sister, and the sewing machine was always around when I was a kid, so I guess I have always sewn. Also, having both a granddad and a great-granddad who were tailors, and a grandma who sewed a lot, make me think that sewing is in my genes.

Featured Member: liaspace

Lia_and_fam_medium

Where are you from and/or where do you live?
I am Indonesian and I live in Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia. I work full time for my own company, an interior contractor and furniture manufacturing company. I am also a mom to two little misfits

How did you start sewing?
I started sewing after having my first child. I was mesmerized by patchwork quilts, then I started taking some quilting lessons, but I think hand quilting is not my thing and so I bought my first sewing machine, hoping I’ll quilt using the machine.

Featured Member: mcphoon

Dsc01024_-_copy_medium

Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I’m from Subang Jaya, Malaysia. I have just graduated with a degree in Food Technology.

How did you start sewing?

I started sewing when I was rather young. I guess watching my mom working wonders with the machine got me to try it out too. I remember that I was always into making my own little projects. I think it started off with making pretty dresses for my Barbie with my mom. Then I moved on to my little pouches, pencil cases and little bags.

I only started sewing clothing for myself a few years back and I have been actively sewing ever since. I always had problems finding clothes that fit well as I’m really petite. And the imported commercial brands that carry petite lines are too expensive for me to splurge on! One day I thought “ I could totally make that!”, it was a simple smocked top and there I moved on to many weekly projects to fill my wardrobe!

Featured Member: dixiediy

Dixiediy_medium

In celebration of this week’s SXSW events in Austin, Texas – we are excited to profile a BurdaStyler and an Austin native!

Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I’m from Austin, TX and right now I’m a video editor for a website but I like to make sewing and designing more of a full time gig.

How did you start sewing?

I began sewing in high school but didn’t start working with patterns until college after a few bad experiences turned me off from clothes sewing (who knew reading the pattern directions could be so helpful?). My favorite project in my studio so far is probably my Striped Tulip Skirt, not because it is especially intricate or a masterpiece but because it took me multiple attempts to get it right and I’m glad I stuck with the pattern and finally found a fabric that worked for it.

Featured Member: tiffa34

Pic-of-me_medium

Where are you from and/or where do you live? What do you do for a living/are you a student?

I’m an Australian currently dividing my time between Brisbane and the Gold Coast, working as a graphic designer and part time student.

How did you start sewing?

I first began making things like clothing and accessories when I was in primary school, however I’d always been creative and loved to draw and create things from an early age.

Featured Member: nyphertiti

Long_blue_skirt_live_medium

Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I’ve lived and traveled all over the world but I always come home to Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada. It’s a very small city almost right smack dab in the middle of Canada. During the day I work in a government office where I assist organizations in my community that work with homeless people. We develop projects that will move people towards independence, anything from mentorship programs up to building an emergency shelters or other housing. It’s very challenging but also very rewarding.

Featured Member: ladyshape

Emilyportrait_medium

Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I grew up in a village in the North East of Scotland called Newburgh, but have called Edinburgh my home for 11 years now. It is a beautiful historic city – small enough to cycle around, lots of green space and an extinct volcano right in the middle of the city. I work in a little art house cinema called the Cameo to pay my rent and am currently setting up a studio. I plan to start a business this year selling vintage inspired and reproduction clothing.

Featured Member: tinybows

Tinybows_image_medium

Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I was born and raised in California. I moved to Montana when I was 17, where I went to college at the University Montana Western. I moved to Philadelphia two years ago, and I reside in the area currently. Right now I am working on going back to finish my education. I was a fine arts major at UMW, but I took some time off to decide what I really want to do. My main focus is in photography, and in Philly there are so many amazing schools that specialize in the arts. I’m looking into going to Moore right now.

Featured Member: mixtlii

Image_medium

1. Where are you from and where do you live?

I was born in Paris, but I grew up in Normandie and then in the south of France. I live now in Montpellier. I am a 4th-year medical student, and I love it! But I am afraid I’ll soon have to pause sewing, because it demands more and more studying…

Featured Member: seinde

Dsc03455_medium

1. Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I am from Anhui, China, but have been in the states for very many years now. Currently, I live in Chicago where I am a Biochemistry student at the University of Chicago.

Featured Member: iroiro

Image_medium

1. Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I live in a tiny village in South Gloucestershire, UK. There is not much there in the way of shops…or anything really. I seem to spend most of my time on the bus at the moment, in search of civilisation. But that is fine; whilst you cannot sew in a moving vehicle, knitting is ideal, which is another of my hobbies. I’ve recently starting studying Fashion Design at college, which is great. Doing what I love everyday is like a dream.

Featured Member: melisloppa

Ase_image2_medium

1. Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I was born and raised in Norway, and I’m just back from Sweden, and living happy days in the Norwegian capital, Oslo. Right now I have an internship as a photo assistant which is part of my Digital Media education at Hyper Island.

Featured Member: missymellie

Melanie_medium

1. Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I live in the suburbs of Sydney, Australia. I am in my final year of studying Industrial Design and work at a fabric store part-time.

2. How did you start sewing? What’s your favorite project in your BurdaStyle studio?

I was taught to sew by my grandmother. She wanted me to learn to sew by hand before trusting me with her sewing machine and so I hand sewed a Goldilocks doll and dress with her help at the age of seven. I then spent a great deal of my childhood making clothes and soft furnishings for my dolls. Since starting university, discovering the wonders of three month summer holidays and getting my childhood ‘dream job’ working at Spotlight (a fabric chain here), I practically sew everything I wear. At the moment my Hey Now and Christmas Dresses are my favourite projects, mainly because it is the season for pretty party dresses!

Featured Member: mahaila

Burda-style_photo_medium

1. Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I am from one of the most isolated capital cities in the world Perth, Australia. Only since moving to the other side of the planet have I realised how isolated Perth is. I currently reside in Berlin.

2. What was the 1st thing you made? How did you start sewing?

When did I start sewing? I can not actually remember because I have always made things. I used to hand sew as I either did not have a sewing machine or my machine was broken. I probably made a bag or case of some sort. I started sewing because I didn’t like the clothes at the store, all of the clothes that I do like, I can’t afford, and I always need to be making something, whether it be knitting, sewing, cutting, designing, or crafting.

Featured Member: carottesauvage

Portraitburdacropped_medium

1. Where are you from and/or where do you live?

I am originally from France. I was raised in the Loire Valley near Le Mans, famous for the Le Mans 24 Hour Race. It is not far from Alençon in Normandy, a town known for its intricate lace: le point d’Alençon. [This feature is sponsored by the French expats’ tourist board. ;-)] I came to work in England in 1996, first in a small town near Bristol, then in London. I have been working while studying Fine Arts: I am a part-time librarian and I recently completed a research project at the Royal College of Art. I often feel stuck here in London, but I guess these are not the best economic times to leave the city. Rotterdam is my preferred location: it oozes with down-to-earth creative energy. There, over the last 4 years, I have learned how to hand process and print my own film footage (mainly 16 mm). I am a film buff.

2. What was the 1st thing you made? How did you start sewing?

I remember hand-stitching fabric remnants. I was determined to hand-sew as neatly and regularly as the sewing machine itself.

Departments

  • Editors' Pick
  • Fashion & Trends
  • Backstage Report
  • Web Seminars
  • DIY to Try
  • Mandie's Picks
  • Denise's Desk
  • Meg's Magazine Mash Up!
  • Featured Member
  • Competitions
  • Guest Columns
  • Comment to Win
  • Monthly Memo
  • BurdaStyle Sewing Vintage Modern
  • ARCHIVE
  • Sewing & Techniques

Galleries

Bsrm-tile_large
062111bsc-meetup-tile_small
Burdastyle

http://burdastyle.com//articles/departments/featured-member?page=6